SatelliteMapOfAmerica Often online resources and self help are simply not enough.  Many times direct, personal contact is desired or required.  In some cases direct assistance may even be available locally or very near your area.  Angel Roar has reviewed specialized child abuse resources in an effort to pick the best of the best.  Below is contact information for several prominent organizations that specialize in child abuse assistance.

Understand that often times taking the first step is the most difficult step in the road to recovery.  If you even slightly suspect you may need help or someone to talk to, it’s best to pick up the phone and make that oh-so-important first contact.

The national and local resources listed below are categorized by state and by where possible, by the type of service the resource provides.  A list of child abuse reporting numbers may be found here.

National Resources

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services operates the Administration for Children and Families.  The following are contact information for specizlized unites within this department.

Child Abuse

National Child Abuse Hotline
800-4-A-CHILD (800-422-4453)

Child Care

Child Care Aware
1-800-424-2246

Domestic Violence

National Domestic Violence Hotline
1-800-799-SAFE (800-799-7233)
TDD 1-800-787-3224

Missing and Exploited Children

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)

Runaway Youth

National Runaway Switchboard
1-800-621-4000

National Human Trafficking Resource Center

National Human Trafficking Resource Center
1-888-3737-888

Local Resources

State Liaison Officers (SLO) for Child Abuse and Neglect

Alabama Department of Human Resources

Sue Ash

Family Services Division

50 North Ripley Street

Montgomery , AL 36130-1801

Phone:
(334) 353-1045

Fax:
(334) 242-0939

Sue.ash@dhr.alabama.gov

Alaska Department of Health and Social Services

Christy Lawton, MSW

Office of Children’s Services

751 Old Richardson Highway, Suite 300

Fairbanks , AK 99701

Phone:
(907) 451-2650

Fax:
(907) 451-2058

christy.lawton@alaska.gov

American Samoa Department of Human and Social Services

Lupe Sunia

Social Services Division

PO Box 997534

Pago Pago , AS 96799

Phone:
(011)684-633-2696, ext. 237

Fax:
(011)684-633-7852

tfsunia@yahoo.com

Arizona Department of Economic Security

Linda Johnson

Administration for Children, Youth and Families

1789 W Jefferson Street –3rd Floor–Site Code 940A

Phoenix , AZ 85007

Phone:
(602)542-2358

Fax:
(602)542-3330

lindajohnson@azdes.gov

Arkansas Department of Human Services

Chris Price

Division of Children and Family Services

PO Box 1437 — Slot S-569

Little Rock , AR 72203-1437

Phone:
(501) 682-1554

Fax:
(501) 682-6968

chris.price@arkansas.gov

California Department of Social Services

Lee Ann Kelly

Office of Child Abuse Prevention

744 P Street MS 11-82

Sacramento , CA 95814

Phone:
(916) 651-6578

Fax:
(916) 651-6328

LeeAnn.Kelly@dss.ca.gov

Colorado Department of Human Services

Judy Rodriguez

Division of Child Welfare

1575 Sherman Street

Denver , CO 80203

Phone:
(303) 866-4054

Fax:
(303) 866-5563

judy.rodriguez@state.co.us

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Department of Community and Cultural Affairs

Rudolfo M. Pua

Division of Youth Services

PO Box 501000 — Chalan Kanoa

Saipan , MP 96950

Phone:
(670)664-2550

Fax:
(670)664-2560

dysdir@saipan.com

Connecticut Department of Children and Families

Stacey Gerber

Child Welfare Services

505 Hudson Street

Hartford , CT 06106-7107

Phone:
(860) 550-6397

Fax:
(860) 566-7947

Stacey.Gerber@ct.gov

Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families

Linda Shannon

Office of Children Services/Division of Family Services

1825 Faulkland Road–Room 246

Wilmington , DE 19805

Phone:
(302)633-2663

Fax:
(302)633-2652

linda.shannon@state.de.us

District of Columbia Children and Family Services Administration

Virginia L. Monteiro

Office of Planning, Policy and Program Support

955 L’Enfant Plaza North, Suite P 101

Washington , DC 20024

Phone:
(202) 724-7058

Fax:
(202) 727-5619

virginia.monteiro@dc.gov

Florida Department of Children and Families

John S. Harper

Child Protective Investigations & Intervention Unit

1317 Winewood Boulevard

Tallahassee , FL 32399-0700

Phone:
(850) 922-3862

john_harper@dcf.state.fl.us

Georgia Department of Human Services

Susan Denney

Office of the Deputy Director, Programs and Policy

533 Highway 29 N

Newnan , GA 30263

Phone:
(404) 387-1913

(770) 254-7558

swdenney@dhr.state.ga.us

Guam Department of Public Health and Social Services

Bureau of Social Services Administration

Lydia D. Tenorio

123 Chalan Kareta

Mangilao , GU 96913-6304

Phone:
(671) 475-2653

Fax:
(671) 477-0500

lydia.tenorio@dphss.guam.gov

http://www.cehn.org/cehn/resourceguide/gdphss.htmlexternal link

Hawaii Department of Human Services

Cynthia Goss

Social Services Division

810 Richards Street–Suite 400

Honolulu , HI 96813

Phone:
(808)586-5925

Fax:
(808)586-4806

cgoss@dhs.hawaii.gov

Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

Shirley Alexander

Division of Family and Community Services

450 West State Street, 5th Floor — PO Box 83720

Boise , ID 83720-0036

Phone:
(208) 334-6618

Fax:
(208) 334-6699

alexande@dhw.idaho.gov

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services

George Vennikandam

Division of Child Protection

10 West 35th Street

Chicago , IL 60616

Phone:
(312) 814-8769

(217) 785-2513

Fax:
(312) 814-1888

(217) 785-0395

George.vennikandam@illinois.gov

Indiana Department of Child Services

James Payne

402 West Washington Street — Room W-392

Indianapolis , IN 45204

Phone:
(317)234-1391

Fax:
(317)232-4490

james.payne@dcs.in.gov

Iowa Department of Human Services

Rosemary Norlin

Bureau of Protective Services

Hoover State Office Building–5th Floor

Des Moines , IA 50319

Phone:
(515) 281-4625

Fax:
(515) 242-6884

RNORLIN@dhs.state.ia.us

Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services

Jane Meschberger

Division of Children and Family Services

DSOB – 915 SW Harrison – Room 551-S

Topeka , KS 66612-1570

Phone:
(785) 296-6030

Fax:
(785) 368-8159

janemeschberger@srs.ks.gov

Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services

Lisa A. Durbin

275 East Main Street — 3EB

Frankfort , KY 40601

Phone:
(502)564-2136

Fax:
(502)564-3096

Lisaa.durbin@ky.gov

Louisiana Department of Social Services

Child Protection Program

Willene P. Griffin

Office of Community Services –C1 Section

627 Fourth Street, Room 3-222-23

Baton Rouge , LA 70822

Phone:
(225) 342-5461

Fax:
(255) 342-9087

willene.griffin@la.gov

Maine Department of Health and Human Services

Virginia S. Marriner

Office of Child and Family Services

211 State Street — Station 11

Augusta , ME 04333

Phone:
(207) 287-2976

Fax:
(207) 287-5282

virginia.s.marriner@maine.gov

Maryland Department of Human Resources

Stephen Berry

Social Services Administration, 5th Floor

311 West Saratoga Street

Baltimore , MD 21201

Phone:
(410)767-7112

Fax:
(410)333-6556

sberry@dhr.state.md.us

Massachusetts Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Liz Skinner-Reilly

24 Farnsworth Street

Boston , MA 02210

Phone:
(617)748-2350

Fax:
(617)261-6743

Liz.Skinner-Reilly@state.ma.us

Michigan Department of Human Services

Zoe Lyons

Grand Tower, Suite 510

P.O. Box 30037

Lansing , MI 48909

Phone:
(517) 241-8297

Fax:
(517)241-7047

LyonsZ2@michigan.gov

Minnesota Department of Human Services

Erin Sullivan-Sutton

Children and Family Services

444 Lafayette Road North

St. Paul , MN 55155-3830

Phone:
(651) 296-2487

Fax:
(651) 297-1949

erin.sullivan-sutton@state.mn.us

Mississippi Department of Human Services

Division of Family and Children

PO Box 352

Jackson , MS 39205

Phone:
(601) 359-4999

Fax:
(601) 359-4333

Missouri Department of Social Services

Children’s Division

615 Howerton Court

Jefferson City , MO 65109

Phone:
(573) 751-8927

Fax:
(573) 526-3971

Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services

Janice Basso

Child and Family Services Division

PO Box 8005

Helena , MT 59604

Phone:
(406) 444-1677

Fax:
(406) 444-5956

jbasso@mt.gov

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

Suzanne Schied

DHHS – Children & Family Services

301 Centennial Mall South Nebraska State Office Building , 3

Lincoln , NE 68509

Phone:
(402) 471-9245

suzanne.scheid@nebraska.gov

Nevada Division of Child and Family Services

Betsey Crumrine, LCSW

DCFS – Family Programs Office (FPO)

4126 Technology Way, 3rd Floor

Carson City , NV 89706

Phone:
(775) 684-4483

Fax:
(775) 684-4456

bcrumrine@dcfs.state.nv.us

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

Michael Donati

Division for Children, Youth & Families

129 Pleasant Street, Brown Building

Concord , NH 03301

Phone:
(603) 271-8159

Fax:
(603) 271-4729

mdonati@dhhs.state.nh.us

New Jersey Department of Children and Families

Liz Orsini

Division of Youth and Family Services

PO Box 0717

Trenton , NJ 08625-0717

Phone:
(609) 984-2378

Fax:
(609) 984-0507

Liz.Orsini@dcf.state.nj.us

New Mexico Children, Youth & Families Department

Mary Ellen (Strawniak) Bearzi

Protective Services Division

Pera Building, Room 254 — PO Drawer 5160

Santa Fe , NM 87502-5160

Phone:
(505) 827-4490

Fax:
(505) 827-7361

maryellen.bearzi@state.nm.us

New York State Office of Children and Family Services

Judy Richards

52 Washington Street

Room 331N

Rensselaer , NY 12144

Phone:
(518) 474-9613

Fax:
(518) 402-6824

judy.richards@ocfs.state.ny.us

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

Charisse S. Johnson

Division of Social Services

325 North Salisbury Street — MSC 2409

Raleigh , NC 27699-2409

Phone:
(919) 334-1020

Charisse.Johnson@dhhs.nc.gov

http://www.dhhs.state.nc.us/dssexternal link

North Dakota Department of Human Services

Tara Lea Muhlhauser

Children and Family Services Division

600 East Boulevard Avenue

Bismarck , ND 58505

Phone:
(701)328-3587

Fax:
(701)328-3538

tmuhlhauser@nd.gov

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services

Leslie McGee

Protective Services

P.O. Box 182709

Columbus , OH 43218-2709

Phone:
(614) 466-1213

Fax:
(614) 466-0164

Mcgeel@odjfs.state.oh.us

Oklahoma Department of Human Services

Kelli Litsch

Children & Family Services Division (CFSD)

PO Box 25352

Oklahoma City , OK 73125

Phone:
(405) 521-4365

Fax:
(405) 521-2283

Kelli.Litsch@okdhs.org

Oregon Department of Human Services

Stacey Ayers

Child Protective Services

500 Summer Street NE, E-68

Salem , OR 97301

Phone:
(503)945-6696

Fax:
(503)378-3800

stacey.ayers@state.or.us

Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare

Cathy Utz

Office of Children, Youth, and Families

PO Box 2675

Harrisburg , PA 17105-2675

Phone:
(717) 705-2912

Fax:
(717) 705-0364

cutz@state.pa.us

Puerto Rico Department of the Family

Carmen Moreno Carbana

Aveue Seviloa #58

Plaza Seviloa — PO Box 194090

San Juan , PR 00910-4090

Phone:
(787) 625-4900

Fax:
(787) 977-2336

cmoreno@adfan.gobierno.pr

Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth, and Families

Stephanie Terry

101 Friendship Street

Providence , RI 02903

Phone:
(401) 528-3573

Fax:
(401) 528-3595

stephanie.terry@dcyf.ri.gov

South Carolina Department of Social Services

Jocelyn Goodwin

Division of Human Services

PO Box 1520

Columbia , SC 29202-1520

Phone:
(803)898-7514

Fax:
(803)898-7641

Jocelyn.goodwin@dss.sc.gov

South Dakota Department of Social Services

Jaime Reiff

Child Protective Services

700 Governors Drive

Pierre , SD 57501

Phone:
(605) 773-3227

Fax:
(605) 773-6834

jaime.reiff@state.sd.us

Tennessee Departmentof Children’s Services

Carla Aaron, MSSW

Cordell Hull Building

436 6th Avenue, North, 8th Floor

Nashville , TN 37243-1290

Phone:
(615) 741-8278

Fax:
(615) 253-0069

carla.aaron@state.tn.us

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

Liz Kromrei

PO Box 149030 — MC E-557

Austin , TX 78714-9030

Phone:
(512)438-3291

Fax:
(512)438-3782

Elizabeth.Kromrei@dfps.state.tx.us

Utah Department of Human Services

Charri Brummer

Division of Child and Family Services

120 North 200 West — Suite 225

Salt Lake City , UT 84103

Phone:
(801) 554-5582

CBRUMMER@utah.gov

Vermont Department for Children and Families

Fred Ober

Child Welfare and Youth Justice Division

103 South Main Street, Osgood Building

Waterbury , VT 05671-2401

Phone:
(802) 241-2139

Fax:
(802) 241-2407

frederick.ober@ahs.state.vt.us

Virgin Islands Department of Human Services

Kimberly Causey-Gomez

Division of Children, Youth and Families

3011 Golden Rock — Christiansted

St. Croix , VI 00820 1

Phone:
(340) 773-2323, x 2004

Fax:
(340) 773-4043

Virginia Department of Social Services

Rita Katzman

Child Protective Services Unit

7 North 8th Street

Richmond , VA 23219

Phone:
(804) 726-7554

Fax:
(804) 726-7895

Rita.katzman@dss.virginia.gov

Washington Department of Social and Health Services

Colette McCully

Children’s Administration

PO Box 45710

Olympia , WA 98504

Phone:
(360) 902-7918

Colette.McCully@dshs.wa.gov

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources

Toby Lester

Children and Adult Services

350 Capitol Street — Room 691

Charleston , WV 25301

Phone:
(304) 558-2997

Fax:
(304) 555-4563

Toby.D.Lester@wv.gov

Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services

Connie Klick

Bureau of Programs and Policy

PO Box 8916

Madison , WI 53708-8916

Phone:
(608) 266-1489

Fax:
(608) 264-6750

klickcl@dhfs.state.wi.us

Wyoming Department of Family Services

Maureen Clifton

Division of Social Services

2300 Capitol Avenue — Hathaway Building #376

Cheyenne , WY 82002

Phone:
(307)777-3570

Fax:
(307)777-7747

mclift@state.wy.us